How do I obtain a library card?
Customers wishing to receive a library card should fill out a library card application. Adults are required to be Texas residents and are required to show name (state issued id) and address identification , and children need a paren't signature to complete the application process. The card is free.
Can I get a library card if I don't live in Kilgore?
Yes, you must reside within the state of Texas to be eligible to obtain a library card.
How old does my child have to be to get a library card of his or her own?
Your child must be seven (7) years old in order to obtain a library card.
How long can I keep a book out?
You may borrow books, magazines, DVDs, audiobooks, and many other kinds of materials. Most items are checked out for 14 days. However, DVDs and VHS have a 7 day check-out period.
Can I return my books after the Library closes?
A book drop is available near the parking lot of the library for the return of books. Please note that audiovisual items must be brought inside the library and are not allowed to be placed in the book drop.
Can I renew my items by phone/ online?
By phone: Contact the library at 903 984 1529. Please have your library card ready as staff will need this information.
Online: Library materials may be renewed online with your libary card number and password. To renew online, go to the online catalog and log in. Once you are logged in, click on My Account . Please note: If you do not have a password, please call the library and a staff member will provide you with the information you will need.
Why can I sometimes not renew materials via the web/ in person/ by phone?
If someone has placed a reserve on your item that you have checked out, the system will not allow it to be renewed. Also if you have an outstanding fine or have already renewed this item, or the item is overdue, your renewal will be disallowed.
How much are fines?
The fines for books, magazines, audios, movies, etc., are $.20 cents per day per item.
Items we borrow from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan: $.50 cents per day per item.
What if I lose a book or another item?
You must pay the current replacement cost along with a $5.00 processing fee.
How many books and other materials can I check out?
On a first time application, you may borrow one item. After the item is returned , there is a limit of twelve (12) items that can be checked out. There is a limit of two (2) DVD/VHS items and a limit of five (5) audiobooks.
Are meeting rooms available at the Library?
There is a meeting room available for use with a $50 room deposit. See the Library Meeting Room tab for more information and application.
Does the Library have a fax machine for public use?
Yes. To send faxes, the library charges $.50 cents per page.
To receive faxes, the library charges $.15 cents per page.
Does the Library have a copy machine for public use?
Yes, copies are $.15 cents per page for standard sized paper. Larger sizes are $.30 cents per page.