Election Information

The City Council elections are held yearly with the Mayor and Council Member Place 2 in odd-numbered years and Council Members Place 1, 3, and 4 in even-numbered years.  The City Clerk is the Early Voting Clerk and responsible for conducting all City-held general or special elections.   The City elections are held on the first Saturday in May with early voting conducted according to State guidelines.  Elections are held at City Hall, 815 N. Kilgore.

Any qualified voter of the City may have his/her name printed upon the the official ballot for the particular office at any election by filing his /her sworn application as required by the Election Code of the State of Texas.  The order of the names on the ballot shall be determined by drawing lots.  Election of Mayor and Council Members are determined by plurality votes (receives the highest number of votes cast at such election for each office to be filled).  In the event of a tie vote, the respective candidates so tied shall cast lots to determine who shall be the duly elected mayor or council member.

All City elections shall be governed, except as otherwise provided by the City Charter, by the laws of the State of Teas governing general and municipal elections.